Six must-read young adult book series


Lauren Alison, Copy Editor

The Winner’s Trilogy:

Author: Marie Rutkoski

Genre: Fantasy, historical

Books in series: “The Winner’s Curse,” “The Winner’s Crime” and “The Winner’s Kiss”

Premise: For 17-year-old Kestrel, being the daughter of a general that conquers, enslaves and revels in violence leaves her only two options: join the military, or get married. But for Kestrel, her piano is her life, and she has no intentions of following her father’s plans. One day, Kestrel and her best friends happen to be at the market when they notice a slave auction is about to start. Kestrel sees a young slave named Arin and decides to buy him, changing the course of her entire life. Something about the defiance in his eyes speaks to her. But Arin has a secret, one that could destroy everything that Kestrel has ever known as well as every life around her. “The Winner’s Trilogy” is a series of three books that are for people who love espionage, edge-of-your-seat type action and grey areas.


The Mortal Instruments:

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Urban fantasy, paranormal

Books in series: “City of Bones,” “City of Ashes,” “City of Glass,” “City of Fallen Angels,” “City of Lost Souls” and “City of Heavenly Fire”

Premise: Clarissa (Clary) Fray is and average 15-year-old girl that lives with her single mother Jocelyn and spends most of her time with her best friend Simon. It is only when Clary goes to a club called Pandemonium with Simon that she learns that her life may not be as simple as she originally thought. Clary finds out that she is a Shadowhunter, a warrior whose existence is devoted to killing demons and keeping fellow humans safe. A series of events are then set off leaving Clary to team up with fellow Shadowhunters Jace, Alec, and Isabelle in order to save both the Shadowhunter race, and the world itself. “The Mortal Instruments” series is split into two part. For each part of the series (three books), the protagonists face a new antagonist. “The Mortal Instruments” is for those who enjoy action, adventure and emotional plot lines.


Penryn and the End of Days:

Author: Susan Ee

Genre: Fantasy, post apocalyptic

Books in series: “Angelfall,” “World After” and “End of Days”

Premise: An apocalypse has descended upon the world, but not from any of the reasons speculated by mankind: angels have ravaged and destroyed the earth. Seventeen-year-old Penryn Young has been barely surviving. With a sister confined to a wheelchair and a schizophrenic mother, things are made even more challenging than they otherwise would be. When one day Penryn’s sister Paige gets taken by rogue angels, Penryn is left to team up with an outcasted archangel named Raphael (Raffe). While traveling through a dark and dangerous North California, Penryn and Raffe are left relying on each other to survive in the worst of situations. But Penryn and Raffe’s partnership leads to a lot of grey areas leaving them both questioning their loyalties to their own races. For people who enjoy action-filled adventures with lots of humor, “Penryn and the End of Days” is a great series.


The Grisha:

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: Fantasy

Books in series: “Shadow and Bone,” “Siege and Storm” and “Ruin and Rising”

Premise: The once-great and powerful nation Ravka has been split in two, creating the infamous and dangerous Shadow Fold. Full of demented monsters and swathed with darkness, everyone in Ravka makes it a point to stay away. Enter refugee Alina Starkov. Never having been being good at much of anything, Alina thinks of herself as average and plain. Everything changes when Alina finds herself in a threatening situation and uncovers a power that had laid dormant inside her. Because of this power, Alina is taken away from everything she has ever known to be trained as a Grisha, the magical elite of Ravka. It is there that Alina meets the infamous and dangerous Darkling, the leader of the Grisha. Nothing is as it seems when it comes to the Grisha, and Alina is left not knowing who to trust. “The Grisha” is a series full of secrets, blurred lines and questioned loyalties. For those who love intricate world building and complex characters, then this is the perfect series.


The Fifth Wave:

Author: Rick Yancey

Genre: Science Fiction

Books in series: “The Fifth Wave,” “The Infinite Sea” and “The Last Star”

Premise: It all started with a world wide technological shut down: the first wave. Next came the second wave: Natural disasters all across the globe. After that came the third wave: chemical warfare. And finally came the fourth wave: silent killers dressed in the disguise of humans. The dawn of the fifth wave is here, and no one knows what’s coming next. Sixteen-year-old Cassiopeia (Cassie) Sullivan is one of the few that has survived, which was anything but easy. It is only when Cassie is shot that she meets Evan Walker, an eighteen-year-old guy with a huge secret. Cassie and Evan team up together, but their differences may tear them apart. Miles away from Cassie and Evan is Ben, a seventeen-year-old that has survived the red death, a sickness that took out millions of people. Together, Cassie, Ben, Evan and their friends must find a way to keep humanity from becoming extinct. For those who like science fiction full of action and adventure, “The Fifth Wave” is a great series.


The Lunar Chronicles:

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Fantasy, science fiction

Books in series: “Cinder,” “Scarlet,” “Cress and Winter”

Premise: It’s far off in the future, and things couldn’t be more different than they are today. Set in New Beijing, France, and all across space, “The Lunar Chronicles” is set in a time where the technology is nothing like anyone has ever seen before, including things such as cyborgs, which are people with robotic parts in place of the ones that were either damaged or broken. “The Lunar Chronicles” follows characters teenagers Cinder, Scarlet, Crescent (Cress), and Princess Winter. Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is largely defined by that fact that she is a cyborg. It is only when Cinder discovers something about herself that changes everything that she has ever known that she is left with the task of saving her country and all the other ones around her. Halfway around the world in France lives Scarlet Benoit. Her Grandma has been missing for weeks, and while the police have given up, she sure hasn’t. Almost a world away from Scarlet lives Cress, who actually lives in a space station. Cress has been isolated for almost her entire life, and after narrowly escaping her prison, she faces a series of challenges that could mean her death. Hundreds of miles away from Cress on the moon lives Princess Winter. For Winter, being a princess is not all it is cracked up to be. With the cruel Queen Levana as her stepmother, Winter will do anything to change her fate. Together, Cress, Cinder, Winter and Scarlet, will fight to save earth. “The Lunar Chronicles” is a perfect series for those who like rewrites of classic fairytales.